The Danger of Making Assumptions

If you do something regularly it is easy to slip into assuming that it will always be so. For example if I drive to Brighton I always park in Hanover as it is free. However so does the rest of the world! It’s even worse at weekends, especially early in the morning, as more people are at home.

I was in Brighton last weekend doing the ‘Your Call to Greatness’ workshop with Darren Eden. On the Saturday it took me about 20 minutes to find a parking space and I arrived later than I had hoped. I also had to park right up at the top of the hill. I had assumed because I always park there I would have no problem finding somewhere to park.

So as I was walking back to my car on Saturday evening I imagined a parking space in a street near the bottom of the hill. I left earlier on the Sunday just to be sure but when I arrived my space was there and I arrived at the workshop 20 minutes early.

The difference? On the Saturday I had assumed that because I always park there I would have no problem finding a space. I had not imagined my end result. So if you want to carry on as you are keep making assumptions or if you want to create a life you love engage your will and make a choice. I also learned that you don’t just do it once as it is easy to slip back. It’s a practice so you have to keep doing it!

Leave a Reply

