Doing nothing

How easy is it to do nothing? Yesterday I did nothing – hang on a minute, I made myself something to eat, a few cups of tea, I answered the door to the postman, I went to the toilet a few times, read a few articles on the internet…..

Let me rephrase that – I did nothing ‘productive’, not even any housework. Or did I? One thing most of the major religions have in common is the observance of a ‘Sabbath.’ A day of rest. In our 24-7 world it gets harder and harder to switch off. We have 24 hour TV, the internet, shops are open 7 days a week, some of them 24 hours too.

I had not set out with that intention yesterday morning but as the day went on I did not feel like doing anything. I wanted to clear my mind. The good thing is I did not feel guilty about it either. It has taken a long time for me to get to that stage though! I had a busy week and I wanted to recharge my batteries so to speak.

This morning when I woke up I was raring to go and feeling full of gratitude. I finished my tax return, arranged a minibus drivers test, went to buy food for the week, did all the washing amongst other things. I am sure that if I had forced myself to do any of those things yesterday I would have taken longer and probably felt resentful.

Take time out, do nothing, you will be all the more productive for it.

Leave a Reply

