Our children need more love

Following on from yesterday’s post about mindfulness in schools I came across this Loving Kindness event happening online throughout March. Imagine the effects if every teacher took part!

I am concerned about how every school I work in dishes out detentions, ‘parking’ (removing disruptive children from the classroom), internal and external exclusions. Surely if these sanctions worked pretty much all of them would be well-behaved? I have no quick-fix solution, it’s not easy when you have a class of 30 children all demanding your attention!

I believe there is a way forward though. I was talking to some year 10s today about the retreat I attended at the weekend. They asked me if I found ‘inner peace’. I said I was getting there and I was learning more about myself. One of the ‘liveliest’ boys asked me if I could teach them. He said he would much rather do that than maths. You see they are even asking for it! I have to agree with him, finding inner happiness should take priority over everything. Let’s help them so they are then ready to learn.

I am currently reading ‘The Indigo Children.’ The old education system does not work for today’s pupils. Many of them are restless, they know the truth and it is not being validated for them. I have hope though, even if I can do my little bit for the children I work with and I know of about 4 others doing similar work in schools, the effects will ripple out and eventually all children will be taught mindfulness and meditation from when they start school.

As Gandhi said: ‘Be the change you want to see in the world.’ I am trying, one step at a time.

4 thoughts on “Our children need more love

  1. I just put up a post on http://watchandwhirl.com about Tina Turner and why she turned to Buddhism to change the things in her life that were killing her. Through this she was able to become happy. There are two clips of her speaking. I thought you might be interested. I haven’t had a chance yet to read other posts of yours, but I will be back.

    Like

  2. I saw also you are following my blog – thank you. I wanted you to know that I have a 2nd one which is really my main blog. even on watch and whirl there are blog posts on the right from there, but it is best to go through the front door because it tell you how to navigate it, http://mynameisjamie.net I will be back to read more of your posts.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

